The Faculty of Medicine of the University of Rijeka is actively involved in all the types of mobility set out below.


The local coordinator (partner) in two networks of the CEEPUS programme framework:
1. Developing a network for monitoring the impact of environmental and nutritional factors on fertility and neonatal health (CIII-RO-0313-07-1415);
2. Determination of xenobiotics by using separation and hyphenated techniques for environment, food and human health purposes (CIII-PL-0706-03-1415)
is Prof. Branka Blagović, M.D., PhD, Department for Chemistry and Biochemistry of the Faculty of Medicine of Rijeka.
Contact address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The CEEPUS (Central European Exchange Programme for University Studies) is regional programme for academic mobility. In addition to Croatia, the following countries  traditionally participate at the programme: Albania, Austria, Bulgaria, Bosnia and Hercegovina, Montenegro, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Macedonia, Poland, Rumania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Serbia. In the academic year 2009/2010, also the University of  Priština in Kosovo has joined the programme. Each year, the signatory countries to the CEEPUS contract define a quota of available scholarships for the incoming mobilities. Moreover, the countries also define the scholarship amounts for the different categories of scholars, as well as the other rights of the CEEPUS scholars (for instance, free accomodation, subventioned food, health insurance). Scholarships depend on the standard of life in a single country and  have to be sufficient for the needs of mobility. Students are also exempted from paying the tuition fees. For more information about the CEEPUS programme, click here.


Erasmus / Erasmus+

The University of Rijeka participates in the Erasmus Programme since the academic year 2009/2010. Through five academic years, more than 500 students of the University of Rijeka have been to a  foreign higher education institution in one of the EU member countries.
In December 2013 the University of Rijeka was awarded with the Erasmus University Charter (255208-LA-1-2014-1-HR-E4AKA1-ECHE) for the participation at the Erasmus+ Programme in the period from 2014 to 2020.
The Erasmus+ is directed towards strengthening knowledge, skills and the employment of European citizens, the advancement of education, training, as well as the work in the area of youth and sports. The estimated budget for the seven year Erasmus + Programme amounts to 19 billion Euros. The Erasmus + gathers all the present European and international projects and initiatives in the area of education, training, youth and sports, replacing the following seven existing programmes:  the Lifelong Learning Programme (Erasmus, Leonardo da Vinci, Comenius, Grundtvig), Youth in Action and five international cooperation programmes (Erasmus Mundus, Tempus, Alfa, Edulin and the cooperation programme with industrialised countries and territories). It is estimated that in the Erasmus+ Programme framework, 5 million people benefit from studying or specialising abroad.
Through the Erasmus+ Programme students may accomplish the following activities:
Student exchange with the purpose of a study sojourn - SMS (3 - 12 months) - includes also the completion of the final paper (it does not include an independent research that is not integral part of the studies). The students of the Faculty of Medicine can spend the Erasmus+ study sojourn at one of the universities that have signed a bilateral Erasmus+ agreement with the Faculty. The applications for the Erasmus+ study sojourn are published on the web page of the University of Rijeka. For more information on the Erasmus + study sojourn programme click here.
Professional Practice for students - SMP (2-12 months)
The student exchange for purposes of professional practice, at the University of Zagreb,  takes place through the Erasmus+ Programme. The duration of the Professional Practice is from 2 to 12 months, which is defined by the host institution in agreement with the student. The student, alone or in agreement with the ECTS-coordinator/mentor of the faculty/academy, finds an institution/company where he/she will undertake his/her professional practice. The professional practice must be related to the studies at the mother faculty/academy. The Erasmus+ Professional Practice applications are published on the web pages of the University of Rijeka. For more information on the Erasmus+ study sojourn click here.

Bilateral exchange

Bilateral exchange according to inter-university agreements

The bilateral exchange according to inter-university agreements, is based on bilateral contracts that the University of Rijeka stipulates with foreign universities. The student exchange is only one of the activities these agreements provide for. The duration of the exchange is from 3 to 12 months and it is defined based on the invitation letter of the host university. For more information on the bilateral exchanges click here.
Bilateral exchange according to the bilateral cooperation of the Republic of Croatia in the higer education area

The bilateral programme on academic mobility is a scholarship programme for citizens of the Republic of Croatia and foreign citizens based on international bilateral agreements and cooperation programmes that the Republic of Croatia has stipulated with other countries. The application for each single scholarship is published on the pages of the Agency for Mobility and EU Programmes ( and the Ministry of Science, Education and Sports ( with all the supporting documentation and instructions for the application.